Changes to the Child Abuse: Mandatory Reporter Training (AB 1207) Requirement
As of March 30, 2018 all providers must fulfill a mandatory reporter training to learn how to detect and report any suspicions of child abuse. During the training providers learn what the law requires of a mandated reporter, how to spot indicators of child abuse or neglect, how to talk to children about suspected abuse, how to make a report, and what happens after a report is filed. If you completed your training last year you must renew your certification every two years. For most of us this will be in 2020. To prepare providers for these renewals we are sharing some important changes to the training.
There are now two parts providers must complete for certification – the general training and the provider specific training. Both trainings include videos and resources for providers.
- General Training: The general training module should be taken before the provider specific training. This is a one-time prerequisite that does not need to be retaken when you renew in subsequent years. It must be completed before the provider-specific training on the updated online platform launched in December 2018. Therefore, all providers must fulfill this general training first. Duration: 4 hours, online.
- Child Care Provider Specific Training: This training will focus on specific situations and concerns for the evaluation of child abuse for child care settings. It includes eight sections and each section will include practice test questions or vignettes. Duration: 3 hours, online.
- Exam: At the conclusion of the training you will take your final exam. Duration: 1 hour, online.
- Certification: You must score 80% or higher to be issued a certificate. Once you’ve completed the exam this certificate will serve as proof of your completion of the training. Make sure you print it out. Your licensing analyst will ask for proof of completion.
Here is where you can fulfill your Mandated Reporter Training (AB 1207).
Important Notice for Providers with Limited English Proficiency: We have heard many monolingual Spanish-speaking providers are being cited for failing to meet the requirement by Licensing Program Analysts. Please remind them a certificate is only required when the online training is available in your language. Currently, the trainings are only offered in English. Please share this during any inspections and keep a written copy of this section for your records:
As per Health and Safety Code Section 1596.8662(e), a licensed child day care provider or applicant for that license, an administrator, or employee of a licensed child care facility is exempt from the detecting and reporting child abuse training if he or she has limited English proficiency and training is not made available in his or her primary language. Once the detecting and reporting child abuse training is made available in his or her primary language, free of cost on the Department’s website, this exemption will no longer apply.
Providers can expect to see one offered in Spanish before the end of the year according to CDSS. Download a copy of PIN 18-06-CCP with this information here.
Providers Speak Up! Meeting with the CDE and Licensing
Providers continue to have conversations with important state entities to voice our concerns around rules, regulations, and payments. On July 22, we met with the California Department of Education and on August 8 with the California Department of Social Services – Community Care Licensing Division. During our meeting with the CDE we were able to get further clarity and training on payment calculations for providers. The CDE also agreed to have our next meeting in Los Angeles so more providers can join the conversation. We will share the details of that meeting once we have secured a date.
During our meeting with Licensing we voiced our concerns with the new changes to the Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training which is currently an 8+ hour online process. We also requested Child Care Providers United be included as an official provider organization on the Licensing website now that we are a registered organization with the state. CCL believes it can list CCPU on its site but will verify this before doing so. We will update you if there are any further developments.
In October, we also conducted meetings in the San Fernando and Antelope Valley with Community Care Licensing Regional Representatives. This is a huge step for many providers in the High Desert areas. It demonstrates how our union is truly an important partner for Licensing. During our meeting providers discussed questions they had with zoning, regulations, and payment with Licensing representatives.